# Formation of the STA Australia

We are very proud to announce that the executives from each Sports Turf Association region formally met during the 30th Australian Turfgrass Conference held at the Gold Coast on Monday 23 June 2014.

At that meeting it was the agreed to proceed with previously discussed plans to establish a senior executive and incorporated association to act and function as the national representative of all the state associations.

Following a round of nominations and the subsequent vote, conducted by all STA regions on Wednesday 25th June 2014, the inaugural executive committee for the Sports Turf Association, Australia 2014-2015 will be:

President: Mr Tony Guy (Western Australia)
Vice-president: Mr Chris Chapman (New South Wales)
Treasurer: Mr Nathan Tovey (Victoria)
Committee members: Mr Malcolm Caddies (Queensland), Mr Peter Le Riche (South Australia), Mr Scott Harris (Australian Capital Territory) and Mr Chris Hay (Tasmania).

This is an exciting time for the turf industry as the Sports Turf Association, Australia will be able to act as a supporting focal point for all aspects of communication, education and industry development to the state associations and in turn for all persons involved in the commercial sports turf and amenity turf management throughout Australia.

“I am very honoured and privileged to be accorded this responsibility. While a lot of work awaits us over the next twelve months building this national association, I am equally enthralled and enthused at the prospect of helping develop such an amazing potential that exists for the future of the sports turf industry in Australia.” , said Tony Guy, STA Australia President.

The Sports Turf Association Australia is now seeking sponsorship to assist development throughout its inaugural year.

For more information please contact Jenny Zadro on 0408 441 119 or admin@sportsturf.asn.au. c/- PO Box 230, Kenthurst NSW 2156.